Thursday, 19 May 2011

MacGyver Knife Album Launch

Wednesday, 25 May 2011 is the album launch of Cape Town based Indie Rock band, MacGyver Knife.

Cape Town-based indie-rock band MacGyver Knife will be launching their debut album, Sewing Legend, this month. The official launch gig will take place at Zula Sound Bar, Long Street, Cape Town on Wednesday, 25 May 2011. Invite your friends, your friends' friends and their girlfriends - they'll all want to be there for this special performance.
“Guests can expect new songs that have never before been performed live - some off the album and some brand new. We’ll also have some awesome visual effects as part of the show,” says Mishal Pandie, lead singer for MacGyver Knife. 
After much of 2010 spent at CoffeeStainedVinyl with sound engineer Teejay Terblanche (of New Holland fame), Sewing Legend is finally ready for the public. The album will be available at the album launch for R70, as well as from local independent music stores thereafter.

Sewing Legend pays homage

The album title, Sewing Legend came from a collab song MacGyver Knife wrote via Internet correspondence with a Sweden-based band, The Heart Sick Groans. The song was called Swimming Legend. During recording last year, two grandparents of the band passed away, both were tailors, and Sewing Legend is a homage to them.
The first single off the album, Stumble, is currently available for free download; the full album will be streamed prior to the official launch date for those eager to have a listen.

You can download Stumble for free on Soundcloud

RSVP for the album launch....

Fellow Cape Town band, She Man Lion will open the event, and have played with the likes of BLK JKS, kidofdoom, Lark, Desmond & the Tutus and Lark.

Sewing Legend track listing
1. Stumble
2. Black and Blue
3. Wake up the Morning
4. Mary Lou and the Guy
5. Now we're even
6. Head to Toe
7. Tomorrow Day
8. Dark side of the Sun
9. Sounds I've found
10. Jaguar
Sewing Legend was written, produced and recorded by MacGyver Knife; engineered and mixed by Teejay Terblanche and mastered by Rogan Kelsey.
For more on MacGyver Knife:

MacGyver Knife consists of brothers Maahir Pandie (lead guitar and backing vocals) and Mishal Pandie (lead vocals), Zaheer Gafoor (drums and percussion) and Zaahier Kamedien (bass) and started gigging in February 2008 after a decade of playing and practicing in garages across the Cape Flats. These days they are regulars, and pull big crowds to venues such as Zula Sound Bar and Mercury Live. In 2010 they were nominated for Beste Nuweling for the MK Awards, with their video "Why you mean". Check it out!
 puts the phenomenon down to ‘… a growing arsenal of fantastic songs. These are big, bold, sweeping, heart-on-its-sleeves songs that fill up the room and all the hearts therein’ calls their music ‘edgy and catchy, with each song being different to the next and just as brilliant. Listening to MacGyver Knife, one might hear echoes of top international acts such as Incubus, Radiohead, Hoobastank or the Smashing Pumpkins.’ called them ‘an exciting and visually pleasing band, with a good stage act and presence, who had the girls screaming for more when they weren't singing the choruses to all of the songs.’

Make sure to be at the album launch, and support this great band! 

No comments:

Post a Comment